Thursday 28 November 2019

Review: How the Dead Lie - Stacey Rourke

A necromancer in a butcher shop. What could possibly go wrong?

Haunted by a horrifying past, Octavia Hollows has lived her life on the move. Like all supernatural beings, when she crosses into Havenwood Falls, she sets off the town’s protective wards. Unlike with most, the officials take immediate action, recognizing her as the powerful necromancer who, as a child, raised the dead in a gruesome public spectacle.

Still, they give Octavia a chance. Ninety days probation. No dark magic. Achieve that, and she will be granted residency. They even secure employment for her at Pyntz’s Butcher Shoppe.

A necromancer working in a butcher shop. What could possibly go wrong?

Just when she settles in and begins opening up to the possibility of a forever home, Octavia discovers a dead body stuffed in the shop’s meat freezer. He’s nude. He looks like a cover model. And now, thanks to Octavia momentarily losing control of her abilities, he’s alive … again.

Fearing someone would go so far as to kill to drive her out of Havenwood Falls, Octavia teams up with Willie, the resurrected hottie, to solve the mystery of his murder. They must work fast, though, before more corpses appear. Otherwise, Octavia could find herself booted from town along with an army of raised undead.


Welcome to the secluded mountain town of Havenwood Falls, home to sexy men, strong women, and neighbors who bite. Discover supernatural mystery, thrills, and romance in a place where everyone has a deep, dark, and often deadly secret.

This is a stand-alone paranormal murder mystery in the world of Havenwood Falls, a collaborative series in the fantasy genre featuring a variety of supernatural creatures. Each author writes a stand-alone story, so they can be read in any order.

The Journals of Octavia Hollows Series:
How the Dead Lie (Prequel novella, this is also part of the Havenwood Falls multi-author series)
Wake the Dead
Dead Man's Hand
Caught Dead
Drop Dead Gorgeous
Dead Ringer
Dead as a Doornail
The Journals of Octavia Hollows: Books 1-6 (Bind Up Collection Containing the first 6 novellas)

Visit Stacey Rourke's website for more information

How the Dead Lie is an introduction to Stacey Rourke's Journals of Octavia Hollows series, if you've already read the other novellas this gives you the chance to see first hand how she met her adorable sidekick Bacon and learn more about her journey started. It's also part of the Havenwood Falls series, I have to admit I've not read any of the other books in that series but as far as I can tell it's a multi-author series linked by a common location. From the characters we meet in this book it seems like Havenwood Falls is populated by a large range of supernatural creatures from werewolves and witches through to goblins and vampires and beyond. I'd actually be interested to try some other books in the series, it seems like a great way to find some new to me authors.

Anyway, I picked this up because I love Octavia Hollows and I spotted this additional story listed on Stacey Rourke's website. Octavia's story is one of those fun, quirky urban fantasy series that has you giggling your way through as Octavia stumbles from one disastrous situation to the next. This introduction to her world is no difference, I mean what else do you expect when you give a necromancer a job in a butchers shop? Hopefully this story will introduce some Havenwood Falls fans to a new series just like it's helped me discover Havenwood Falls.

Source: Purchased

Other reviews of this book:
If you have reviewed this book on your blog please leave a link to your review in the comments & I'll add the link here.

Paperback / Kindle:

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails