Tuesday, 16 April 2013

Quick Review: A Stroke of Dumb Luck - Shiloh Walker (also known as J.C. Daniels)

When a teenaged girl goes missing, her mother calls Kit Colbana, scion of an ancient line of warriors -- unfortunately, Kit's heritage doesn't impress the local wererats much. They're determined to make the girl one of their own, and Kit is going to need a big sword, a bright flashlight, and a helpful vampire to get her back.

A Stroke of Dumb Luck can be read for free on the Tor website here.

The Colbana Files:
A Stroke of Dumb Luck (Free Short Story)
Bladed Magic (Short Story)
Blade Song
Night Blade
Broken Blade
Edged Blade
Misery's Way (Short Story)
Shadowed Blade

Visit J.C. Daniels' website for more information

Fans of the Colbana Files are going to really enjoy this little short story prequel that can be read for free on the Tor website. The story is also available to download from Amazon for the Kindle but you have to pay a small amount for that version. I have to say that although I'm happy to have read it for free I think I'd have been disappointed if I'd spent money on it (it's very short at around 20 pages). Please note that while A Stroke of Dumb Luck is published on Amazon with the author's correct name, Shiloh Walker, but the rest of the series has been published under her pen name, J.C. Daniels. I think that is a little confusing - especially to anyone who hasn't come across the series before - so I wanted to point it out for anyone who is unaware.

This story will have much more meaning to people who have already started reading the series and who know the characters involved. I've read the first two books (Blade Song & Night Blade) so I'm already invested in this world and it was really nice to get a glimpse into Kit's past. We get to see one of her earliest meetings with vampire Jude and we also get to see a bit more of the background of her friendship with Colleen. If you're new to the series then this story is a nice introduction but it doesn't show the full complexity of the world Shiloh Walker / J.C. Daniels has created, it's a nice taster to whet your appetite but there is only so much you can show in 20 pages. I would highly recommend the series though, it is fast becoming one of my favourite urban fantasy series and I think it will appeal to fans of authors like Ilona Andrews and Patricia Briggs.

Source: Read for free on the Tor.com website here

Other Reviews:
If you have reviewed this book on your blog please leave a link to your review in the comments & I'll add the link here.


No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts with Thumbnails
There was an error in this gadget